LatteAddiction’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Half a Brain June 17, 2008

Filed under: Daily Grind — latteaddiction @ 4:23 am
Tags: , , , ,

Today was Monday. But not just any Monday. It was my day to go back to work in the “new” building. The company I currently work at unveiled it’s new building today. The hubbub of the hive was buzzing with people seaching for their hives to call their new home.

I was less than thrilled. After working from home 5 days a week, being able to catch an occassional Tyra show between meetings, and being able to cut costs for gas and food, I was not excited. I was not enjoying the recycled air, dry, bloodshot eyes and the gleaming stare from the higher-ups that passed by my desk too many times for my liking.

I was seated next to the Service Center, the hallway, the VP and his Admin. So I caught up on the latest news given to me by the Admin… how they are cutting overhead by firing people before they could move to the new building. The company made over 20 billion dollars but still didn’t hit the mark. We have all new chairs (my guess $500 each), adjustable desks (~$1200), file cabinets with cushions on top (~$500), lockers for our jackets, chairs with tables in the hallways (~$800), the newest design in table work lamps (~$300). And I’m just one Chief Peon.

I slept when I got home. My guess is that the grapes and a rice krispy bar didn’t cut it for lunch. We’ll see how tomorrow goes…

 

Leave a Reply

